August 1 of the current year, there was a branch of the largest cryptocurrency according to parameters such as capitalization and the exchange rate, which showed a new kryptonic – Bitcoin Cash. Despite the great success of Bitcoin, this currency had some problems that were supposed to be solved in several ways. In the end, it was selected to create a fork.

Bitcoin Cash – the block size will increase by 8 times!

Prerequisite of Bitcoin Cash creation

As you know, for the functioning of bitcoin uses the technology of the blockchain – a sequential chain of blocks, in which “Packed” transaction records. The creators of bitcoin have introduced a limit on the size of the blocks is equal to 1024 KB. Initially, the number of transactions was relatively small, so no functioning problems did not arise, but the likelihood of DDoS attacks was very low. With the growing popularity of the currency has increased the number of transactions that no longer “fit” into the block and detained in the so-called “queue”. In late spring this year, the situation approached critical, many users had to wait a few days to complete the transfer of funds. To increase the priority of the transaction, you can increase the amount of the Commission, but this leads to inappropriate use of currency.

Proposed solutions

Experts have proposed two methods that could solve the problem with delayed transactions:

  • To increase the block size. This initiative supported the miners, as it helped increase their profits (more transactions in the block the higher the fee). According to the developers, the withdrawal limits of 1 MB can lead to centralization and the need for a more productive computing.
  • To bring some data outside the blockchain. Developers advocated for this initiative, because this way you can free up space in the unit, making it available for transactional records. Proponents of the first way believed that this decision will give only temporary results.

A compromise

In trying to account for the needs and wishes of both users and developers, was established SegWit2x Protocol, according to which a certain amount of data must be stored outside the network, and the block size is doubled. More than 95% of miners supported him in the vote held on 20 July. According to the decision, it was assumed the introduction of a new Protocol on 1 August, however an increase in the size of the unit, it was decided to postpone. Some felt that this option will only postpone the problem and will only suit those who are interested in investing in cryptocurrency, and not use it to make payments.

Bitcoin Cash – the block size will increase by 8 times!

Hardfork

The team led by Amaury Seceta (former engineer of the social network Facebook) refused to use the new Protocol and created a branch currency, called Bitcoin Cache. The structure of the blockchain, it was decided not to change, and the block size to increase in 8 times. New virtual currency appeared 1.08.2017 years and has a common history with Bitcoin, but since 478559 the transaction block is divided depending on the belonging to a particular virtual currency. Programs that handle transactions with both old and newly formed branches, support the previous formats of the blocks, however, do not accept the new each other.
The owners of the funds denominated in Bitcoin, kept his money, however, in turn they received the equivalent amount of Bitcoin Cache, and the possibility of double spending. The original value of futures new currency was 0.5 BTC, but a few days has decreased in 5 times.

Bitcoin Cash – размер блока увеличить в 8 раз!

1018

1 августа текущего года произошло ответвление самой крупной криптовалюты по таким параметрам, как капитализация и курс, в результате которого появился новый криптознак – Bitcoin Cash. Несмотря на большой успех Биткоин, данная валюта имела определенные проблемы, которые предлагалось решить несколькими способами. В итоге был выбран вариант создать форк.

Bitcoin Cash

Предпосылки создания Bitcoin Cash

Как известно, для функционирования биткоина используется технология блокчейн – последовательная цепочка блоков, внутри которой «упакованы» записи о транзакциях. Создатели биткоин ввели ограничение на размер блоков, равный 1024 Кб. Изначально количество транзакций было относительно небольшим, поэтому никаких проблем с функционированием не возникало, зато вероятность DDoS-атак была крайне низкой. С ростом популярности валюты увеличилось число транзакций, которые перестали «помещаться» в блок и задерживались в так называемой «очереди». В конце весны текущего года ситуация приблизилась к критичной, многим пользователям приходилось ожидать несколько суток, чтобы выполнить перевод денежных средств. Для повышения приоритета транзакции можно увеличить сумму комиссии, однако это приводит к нецелесообразности использования валюты.

Предложенные способы решения

Специалисты предложили два способа, которые могли решить проблему с задержкой транзакций:

  • Увеличить размер блока. Данную инициативу поддерживали майнеры, поскольку она способствовала увеличению их прибыли (больше транзакций в блоке – более высокая сумма комиссии). По мнению разработчиков, снятие ограничения в 1 Мб может привести к централизации и необходимости использования более производительной вычислительной техники.
  • Вывести часть данных за пределы блокчейн. Разработчики выступали за данную инициативу, поскольку таким способом можно высвободить место в блоке, предоставив его для транзакционных записей. Сторонники первого способа полагали, что данное решение даст лишь временный результат.

Компромиссный вариант

В попытках учесть требования и пожелания как пользователей, так и разработчиков, был создан протокол SegWit2x, согласно которому некоторый объем данных должен храниться за пределами сети, а размер блока – увеличен вдвое. Более 95% майнеров поддержали его на голосовании, состоявшемся 20 июля. Согласно принятому решению, предполагалось внедрение нового протокола с 1 августа, однако увеличение размера блока было решено временно отложить. Некоторые сочли, что данный вариант позволит лишь отложить проблему и устроит только тех, кто заинтересован инвестировать в криптовалюту, а не использовать ее для выполнения платежей.

Bitcoin Cash

Хардфорк

Команда разработчиков во главе с Амори Сечетом (бывший инженер соцсети Facebook) отказалась от использования нового протокола и создала ответвление валюты, получившее название Биткоин Кэш. Структуру блокчейн было решено не изменять, а размер блока – увеличить в 8 раз. Новая виртуальная валюта появилась 1.08.2017 года и имеет общую историю с Биткоин, однако начиная с 478559 блока транзакции разделились в зависимости от принадлежности к той или иной виртуальной валюте. Программы, обрабатывающие транзакции как старой, так и новообразованной веток, поддерживают предыдущие форматы блоков, однако не принимают новые друг друга.

Владельцы денежных средств, выраженных в Биткоин, сохранили свои деньги, однако в свою очередь они получили эквивалентную сумму Биткоин Кэш и возможность двойного расходования. Изначальна стоимость фьючерсов новой валюты составила 0,5 BTC, но за несколько дней уменьшилась в 5 раз.